Pasta with Basic White Wine Sauce

Sauces are amazing things.

A good sauce can take a basic, boring, bleh meal and turn it into a work of culinary genius.

Take, for example: chicken.

Chicken, by itself, if simply boiled or baked, is dry and plain and blah.

However, with the right sauces you can have the following:
bbq chicken
General Tso’s chicken
Sweet-and-sour chicken
orange chicken
lemon chicken
chicken teriyaki
chicken katsu
chicken marsala
chicken parmigana
chicken tikka
tandoori chicken

Do I need to go on?

One of the most basic sauces you can learn to make for chicken, fish or pasta is a good white wine sauce. While a lot of recipes will call for butter and/or milk, it’s perfectly easy to make an IBS-safe white wine sauce.

Here’s a simple pasta dish with a white wine sauce with garlic and mushrooms, because that’s what I had hanging around:

+ 6 oz or one serving pasta to serve one–there will be enough sauce to serve two or three, so don’t feel bad about sticking more pasta in!

+ Your source of protein–I used salt fish since I needed to finish the package, but you can sauté chicken, use fresh fish or shellfish or, heck, even chuck tofu in there if that’s your thing.

+ 1 1/2 cup dry white wine.
+ 2-3 cloves garlic, minced. Van Vorous uses six cloves in her recipe, but I find too much garlic bothers me.
+ handful mushrooms, rinsed.
+ 1/2 cup basil.
+ 1 teaspoon olive or canola oil

In an appropriate sized saucepan, boil water and cook your pasta.

Note:  I dunked the fish in the boiling water to rehydrate it–you should cook your protein source as you see fit.  I imagine sautéing chicken might work best.

In a skillet, sauté mushrooms and garlic until mushrooms brown and garlic turns golden.

Stir in wine and then basil.

(you can obviously use more mushrooms here if you’d like).

Let boil until slightly reduced–if you’d like a thicker sauce, you can stir in some flour or cornstarch.

Toss in pasta and protein (if you aren’t already sautéing your protein), add in reserve cooking water if necessary until heated thoroughly.

Serve in shallow bowl and enjoy.

You can add lots of different things to a white wine sauce–more garlic, more mushrooms, anchovies, capers, anything you think would “go”, really.

It’s quick, fairly easy, and instantly turns plain pasta and chicken/fish/shellfish into something much more delicious.

9 responses to “Pasta with Basic White Wine Sauce

  1. Definitely yummy! Never heard of wine in a pasta recipe. I think I should give a try.

  2. Really? The Italian restaurants here almost always have it on a menu, usually in a pasta or chicken dish.

    You should definitely try it–there are loads of white wine recipes out there. Just make sure you buy a good dry white wine and not a cooking wine. Good luck! =)

  3. Pingback: 10 Alcoholic Pasta Recipes | The Pasta Sampler

  4. sorry, but, we tried this, and it was fucking awful. deliah smith would shit on your food. GOODBYE

  5. I tried a couple of substitutions here which didn’t work. Tried to go with turkey bacon as opposed to pork bacon to save on the calories, but I think in hindsight I should have then used a bit more Olive Oil to replace the fats that you get from pork bacon on this.

    Also, would like to know more on the type of white wine you used. I tried a Chardonnay, curious if you did as well. Long story short, I ended up with a nice dish without enough flavor, but I think they’re correctable things for a novice chef!

  6. 1/2 a CUP OF BASIL?!?!? This is the worst recipe I’ve ever tried and I’ll never use it again.

  7. I do think that 1/2 cup of basil is a typo for 1/2 tsp. If you look at the pictures of it cooking, you can see it’s clearly not 1/2 cup, nor is it FRESH basil, so 1/2 TEASPOON dried basil would likely be the correct measurement.
    I tried this using a Pinot Grigio and added a bit of fresh cilantro, extra garlic, and a nob of butter to finish. It was excellent and I would definitely make it again!

  8. If you can spare the cash, I recommend using truffles instead of mushrooms.

  9. I never, ever would have thought I would be required to understand this thank goodness for google, right?

Leave a Reply

